About the march, I would like to say...] Woo-sang Hsu: Everyone is a phoenix when they are on the rainbow

Author: Xu Yousheng 23 September 2012

In the summer of 1989, I traveled to New York City to study and participated in the Gay Pride Parade for the first time. As a gay man, my first experience of the Rainbow Parade was in the hottest and most diverse metropolis of New York City. It was like a child entering a giant candy house, surrounded by a mountain of colorful candies and snacks, and overwhelmed with joy.

Later, when I moved to San Francisco to study for my doctoral degree, I participated in the Gay Pride Parade in this glorious city of gay tradition. The city was ecstatic to see the handsome mayor sitting on the hood of a Cadillac, wearing sunglasses and looking sexy, like a movie star.

At that time, I always thought that no matter how gorgeous and joyful the gay parade was in other people's land, it was after all a "family reunion comedy" for other people, and I was an outsider, so I couldn't help but feel sad and wondered when Taiwan could have its own parade.

At that time, I saw that Tokyo, Japan had just held a gay parade, but it seemed that the number of people was not large, and the pictures were not exciting enough. I thought to myself, "Japan's gay people are already very daring, but there were only two or three kittens in the parade, so if Taiwan ever organizes a parade, what kind of a cold scene will it be?

I'm glad I was wrong about the first Taipei Gay Pride Parade in 2003, but I was in Taiwan at the right time. I remember everyone gathered at 228 Park first, and I didn't follow any particular group. Looking around, I couldn't help but worry about how many beautiful boys and girls would show up for this first march.

I was totally surprised that there were thousands of them. Instead of the scattered pigeons I had imagined, there was a whole team of geese traveling thousands of miles. Walking along the familiar wide streets of Taipei for the first time as a gay man, I was overwhelmed with so many feelings under the beautiful sunlight. When I was young, I thought being gay was like a life in hell with no future. How could I have known that one day I would be surrounded by pairs of young boys and girls holding hands in love and being blessed by the sunshine?

In the past, when I walked along these streets, did I not complain a lot? I always felt lonely and alone, and had to force myself to look for companions in the place called New Park, and when I left it, I went back to the world of hypocrisy. But at this moment, I am walking on the main road, with my head held high and my eyes looking around, how can I feel any shame? What was the feeling of being a rat in the street? We became a team of gigglers and glitterati, turning everyone's imagination upside down.

The first time we went out, we created beautiful fruits, and every year since then, we have grown with amazing numbers. Last year, the Gay Pride Parade already reached 50,000 people, and there were gay and lesbian brothers and sisters from all over the world, especially from Hong Kong, China, who hung Taipei's bright rainbow on the Pacific Ocean, which was called the largest gay parade in Asia.

This year, another initiative was launched to start the Rainbow Parade around the island in a province-wide relay, which took place all over the place. I was invited to speak at the University of Berkeley about my wedding to Gerry in 1996, and next time I'm going to be proud to go on stage to talk about the great event of the Taiwan Gay Pride Parade.

en_USEnglish

【關於遊行,我想說…】許佑生:登上彩虹,人人都是鳳凰

台灣同志遊行聯盟網

Updated on:

作者: 許佑生 23 September 2012

1989年夏天,我到紐約遊學,第一次參加了同志大遊行。身為同志,生平第一度見識彩虹遊行就在最熱鬧ヽ最多元的紐約大都會,宛如小孩進入一家巨無霸糖果屋,被五顏六色的糖果零食山堆包圍,喜不自勝。

後來因轉到舊金山念博士班,也參加過這座同志傳統光榮城市的同志大遊行。帥氣的市長戴墨鏡以性感之姿,坐在凱迪拉克前導車的車蓋上,簡直是電影明星,真叫全市狂喜。

那時候,我總在想別人土地上再怎麼華麗、歡喜的同志大遊行,終究是人家的「全家團圓大喜劇」,我畢竟是外人,不禁黯然,懷疑何時台灣才能有自己的遊行?

那時,我看日本東京剛舉行一場同志遊行,但似乎人數不多,看圖片也不夠精彩。心中盤算,日本同志已經很敢了,辦起遊行卻小貓兩三隻,那如果台灣有一天舉辦會是何等冷清畫面啊?

哈,很高興我料錯了。2003年第一屆台北同志大遊行,我正好人在台灣,趕上了這良辰吉時。記得大家先在228公園集合,我沒特定跟著哪個團體,看看周遭,不免擔心,到底這次第一次出征能有多少美少男ヽ美少女戰士現身哪?

完全出乎我預料,竟有多達上千人。這不是我想像中的零落鴿群,而是一整隊雁行千里了。在隊伍中,首度以同志身份在台北熟悉的寬大馬路大方走著,頂著美麗的陽光,我湧出了好多感觸。在我年輕時,覺得當同志像沒有未來的黑獄人生,怎知會有這麼一天夾在身邊一對對小男生ヽ小女生相愛牽手,被陽光撒落祝福的人堆裡!

以前走在這些街道上,我不是很幽怨嗎?老覺得寂寞落單,要勉強作自我,只能躲在當年叫新公園的地方遊魂似地找尋同伴,離開那裡就回到假惺惺世界。但這一刻我走在大馬路上,抬頭挺胸,顧目四盼,哪有什麼羞愧?哪有什麼過街老鼠的滋味?我們這一條隊伍變得嘻嘻哈哈,光豔奪目,顛覆了所有人的想像。

我們首次出擊便締造美麗果實,以後每一年都以驚人數字成長,到去年的同志大遊行已高達五萬人次,且有來自世界各地的同志兄弟姊妹,尤其大陸香港,把台北的亮麗彩虹整條掛在太平洋海上,號稱亞洲最大規模的同志遊行了。

今年,又推出創舉,以全省接力方式展開彩虹環島遊行,遍地開花。我曾在柏克萊大學受邀演講我與葛瑞在1996年的那場婚禮,下次我要很驕傲地上台去講台灣同志大遊行的盛事了。

zh_TW繁體中文